Introduction: Sara L. Uckelman

I figured before I post my first post, I should follow Jonathan’s lead and introduce myself.

My name is Sara L. Uckelman, and I recently joined the editorial board of the Journal of Logic, Language, and Information as an associate editor (recently enough that the journal’s webpage doesn’t yet reflect this). JoLLI is in some respects less philosophical than some of the other journals that are represented here in this blog, but it publishes a wide range of papers on applied philosophical logic and at the intersection of linguistics, philosophy, and logic, and so I hope my credentials as an “editor of a philosophy journal” are adequate! πŸ™‚

Like JoLLI, my own research spans a diverse set of topics. I am primarily a logician, but my interests range from the development of logic in the 11th-14th centuries in western Europe, to argumentation theory and dialogue systems, to mathematical modal logic, to the logic of reasoning in dynamic multi-agent systems, and back again to the interface between logic/argumentation and language/semantics. As an editor, I’ve found my varied interests and personal connections in many different areas have been helpful when it comes to finding referees for papers which are not necessarily in my field of expertise.

2 thoughts on “Introduction: Sara L. Uckelman

  1. Charles Stewart

    I guess you can’t do history of logic without doing history of philosophy.

    Out of curiosity, I saw you list your research interests as “Medieval modal, temporal, and tense logic; Medieval theories of obligationes; Abstract dialogue and argumentation systems; Medieval European onomastics; The influence of theology on the development of medieval logic; Computational social choice; Medieval economic and trade history” — one of those things strikes me as unlike the others. Is computational social choice something to do with social choice theory in economics?

    Reply
    1. Sara L. Uckelman

      Computational social choice is much broader than just social choice in economics. A good overview of the field can be found here: http://www.illc.uva.nl/COMSOC/. This is the field my husband did his Ph.D., so it’s much more of a side-research-interest rather than something I’m actively pursuing, but occasionally I get to do interesting things like investigating electoral procedures in medieval contexts. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

